Polity Quiz 28th June 2018 In English

By: D.K Chaudhary

Q.1       If a new state to be formed, which schedule of the constitution will need to be amended? (UP. Lower Sub. 2008)

(A)          5th                                           (B)          3rd

(C)          2nd                                          (D)          1st

Ans:- (D)

Frist schedule of the constitution comprises the state and the Union Terirories. Whenever a new state is to be formed, the frist schedule will need to be amended.


Q.2       How many Union terriroties are there in India? (MP. PCS 1996)

(A)          6                                              (B)          7

(C)          8                                              (D)          9

Ans:- (B)

There are 7 Union Terriroties and 29 States in India.


Q.3       How many seats are reserved for UTs in Lok Sabha? (UP. PCS 2008)

(A)          20                                           (B)          25

(C)          30                                           (D)          There is no reserved seats.

Ans:- (A)

According to the Art. 81 (as amended by 31st amendment, 1973 and goa, daman and diu reorganization Act., 1987) the maximum strength of the house of people envisaged is 552 out of which 530 members to represent states and 20 members to represent the Union Territores. According to Act. 331, if the community of anglo—Indian has not an adequate representation in the house then the president may nominate 2 members. Presently the seats for UTs is 13 (Delhi-7, Andaman and Nicobar-1, Dadara and Nagar Haveli-1 Daman and Diu-1, Chandigarh-1, Lakhsdweep-1, Puducherry-1 ) while in Rajya Sabha it is 4 (Delhi-3, Puducherry-1).


Q.4       How many states and UTs did the States Reorganisation commission create in 1956? (MP. PCS 2004)

(A)          14 States and 6 UTs.                                                        (B)          17 States and 6 UTs.

(C)          14 States and 8 UTs.                                        (D)          17 States anf 8UTs.

Ans:- (A)

On the recommendation of fazal ali commission which was constitution for reorgansation of the states after independence, 14 states and 6 UTs to be formed on the linguistic basis on 1st ocober 1953.


Q.5       How many state and union territories are there in Inida? (UP. PCS 2002)

(A)          25 States and 7 UTs.

(B)          28 States and 7 UTs (Including national capital territory-1).

(C)          24 States and 6 UTs.

(D)          None of the above.

Ans:- (D)

At the time of this question in 2002, there were 28 state and 7 UTs. Telangana the 29th State of the Union of India on 02 june, 2014.


Q.6       The member of Indian State after the formation of Telangana will be? (UP. PCS 2013)

(A)          27                                                    (B)                    28

(C)          29                                                                           (D)          30

Ans:- (C)

See the explanation of above question.


Q.7       Which of the following is not a Union Territory? (UP. PCS 2013)

(A)          The Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

(B)          Daman and Diu.

(C)          Goa.

(D)          Puducharry.

Ans:- (C)

The first Schedule of the constitution lists down the names of the Union Territories and the State of India. There are 29 State and 7 UTs in the given options, Goa is the only State, and all others are UTs.

Q.8       Delhi is a / an? (B. PCS 1997—98)

(A)          State                                                                        (B)       Union Territory.

(C)          Autonomous Council.                    (D)         None of these.

Ans:- (B)

Delhi is a UTs according to the 1st Schedule of the constitution. Officially, it is also known as the national capital region and has been given the special status among the UTs by the 69th Amendment Act, 1991.


Q.9       By which constitutional amendment Delhi was given the status of National Capital Region? (UP. PCS 2014)

(A)          67th                                                                                         (B)          69th

(C)          68th                                                                                         (D)          70th

Ans:- (B)

See the explanation of above question.


Q.10       Which one of the following statements is incorrect? (I.A.S. 2000)

(A)          Goa attained full statehood in 1987.

(B)          Diu is an island in the Gulf of Khambhat.

(C)          Daman and Diu were separated from Goa by the 56th Amendment of the constitution of India.

(D)          Dadra and Nagar Haveli were under French colonial rule till 1954.

Ans:- (D)

Daddra and Nagar Haveli were under Portuguese Rule. The Protuguese rule lasted until 1954, when Dadra and Nagar Haveli were occupied by supporters of Indian Union.

About D.K Chaudhary

Polityadda the Vision does not only “train” candidates for the Civil Services, it makes them effective members of a Knowledge Community. Polityadda the Vision enrolls candidates possessing the necessary potential to compete at the Civil Services Examination. It organizes them in the form of a fraternity striving to achieve success in the Civil Services Exam. Content Publish By D.K. Chaudhary

Check Also

G.K Quiz 13th August 2018 In Hindi

By: D.K Chaudhary लावा के प्रवाह से किस मिट्टी का निर्माण होता है— काली मिट्टी …