Polity Quiz 15th Dec 2017

By: D.K Chaudhary

Q.1   What is correct about the starred question? (Chhatti. PCS 2014)

  1. Answer is given oral.
  2. Answer is given in written.
  3. Supplementary questions can be asked.
  4. Answer can be discussed.
  5. Speaker controls answer.


(A)      2, and 5                     (B)      1 and 3

(C)       5 and 4                      (D)      2 and 4

Ans:- (B)

A starred question is one to which a member desires an oral answer in the house and which is distinguished by an asterisk (*) mark. When a question is answered orally, supplementary questions can be asked thereon. Only 20 questions is one which is not called for oral answer in the house and on which on supplementary questions can consequently be asked.


Q.2   In the parliament of India, the purpose of an adjournment motion is? (I.A.S 2012)

(A)      To allow a discussion on a definite matter of urgent public importance.

(B)      To let opposition members collect information from the members.

(C)       To allow a reduction of specific amount in demand for grant.

(D)      To postpone the proceedings to check the inappropriate or violent behavior on the part of some members.

Ans:- (A)

The main purpose of an adjournment motion in the parliament of India is to allow a discussion on a subject matter of urgent public importance.


Q.3   With reference to Union Government, consider the following statements? (I.A.S 2009)

  1. The ministries/Departments of the government of India are created by the prime minister on the advice of the cabinet secretary.
  2. Each of the ministries is assigned to a minister by the president of India on the advice of the prime minister.

Which of the statement’s given above is/are correct?

(A)      only 1                                    (B)      only 2

(C)       Both 1 and 2           (D)      Neither 1 or 2

Ans:- (B)

The ministries/departments of the government of India are not created by prime minister on the recommendation of cabinet secretary. Cabinet secretary is the head of cabinet secretariat. He is also the chairman of the civil services board. Each of the ministries is assigned to a minister by the president of India on the advice of the prime minister. Hence, statement 1 is incorrect and 2 is correct.


Q.4   The secretariat of parliament of India is? (MP. PCS 2010)

(A)      Under minster of parliamentary affairs.

(B)      Under President.

(C)       Independent of the government.

(D)      Under the Supreme Court.

Ans:- (C)

The idea of a separate secretariat for the parliament of India, independent of the executive, was mooted as early as in January 1926 by then president of the central legislative assembly, late Shri Vithalbhai J. Patel. Article 98, of the constitution specifies that each house of parliament shall have a separate secretariat, which is independent of the government.


Q.5   Sovereignty of Indian parliament is restricted by? (UP. PCS 2004)

(A)      Powers of the President of India.       (B)      Judicial review.

(C)       Leader of the opposition.                      (D)      Powers of the prime minister of India.

Ans:- (B)

The parliament is the Supreme legislative body, but the law made by the legislature do not infringe the basic structure of the constitution. Supreme Court have the power of judicial review to cheek the validity of the law made by the parliament.


Q.6   The golden jubilee of Indian parliament was celebrate on? (UP.PCS 2008)

(A)      01/01/1997                                    (B)      15/08/1997

(C)       26/01/2002                                    (D)      13/05/2002

Ans:- (D)

The Golden Jubilee of the Indian parliament was celebrated on May 13, 2002 on (May 13, 1952 the parliament was constituted) for completing 50 years of its formal establishment.


Q.7   Who was the Nationalist leader to be elected as speaker of central legislative assembly in 1925? (UP. PCS 2007)

(A)      Moti Lal Nehru                  (B)      Vitthalbhai Patel

(C)       Vallabhbhai Patel              (D)      C.R. Das

Ans:- (B)

In 1925, Vitthalbhai Patel was elected as the first speaker of the central legislative assembly. His tenure was from 24 August, 1925 to 28 April, 1930.

 Q. 8 Consider the following statements? (I.A.S 2007)

  1. The chairman of the committee on public accounts is appointed by the speaker of the Lok Sabha.
  2. The committee on public accounts comprises members of Lok Sabha, members of Rajya Sabha and a few eminent persons of industry and trade.

Which of the statement’s given above is/are correct:

(A)      1 Only                                   (B)      2 Only

(C)       Both 1 and 2                       (D)      Neither 1 nor 2

Ans:- (A)

The Lok Sabha appoints the chairman of all parliamentary committees. So, the chairman of the committee on public accounts is appointed by the speaker of the Lok Sabha. Hence statement 1 is correct.

Public Accounts committee is a financial committee. It consists of 22 members, 15 from the Lok Sabha and 7 from the Rajya Sabha, all elected by the proportional representation system. It is assisted by the comptroller and auditor general of India. It ensures that public money is spent in accordance with parliament’s decisions and calls attention to waste, extravagance, loss or nugatory expenditure. Hence, statement 2 is incorrect.


Q.9   Consider the following statements? (I.A.S 2003)

  1. While members of the Rajya Sabha are associated with committee on public accounts and public undertakings, members of committee on estimates are drawn entirely from Lok Sabha.
  2. The ministry of parliamentary affairs works under the overall direction of cabinet committee on parliamentary affairs.
  3. The minister of parliamentary affairs nominates members of parliament on committees, councils, boards, and commissions, etc, set up by the government of India in various ministries.

Which of these statements are correct:

(A)      1 and 2                                  (B)      2 and 3

(C)       1 and 3                                  (D)      1, 2 and 3

Ans:- (D)

The committee on public accounts and the committee on public undertakings consists of 22 members comprising 15 members elected by the Lok Sabha every year and 7 members of Rajya Sabha. While estimates committee consists of 30 members, elected every year by the Lok Sabha amongst its members. Thus statement 1 is correct. The ministry of parliamentary affair works under the direction of cabinet committee. Thus, statement 2 is also correct. The minister of parliamentary affairs nominates the member of parliament on committee, councils boards etc. thus, statement 3 is also correct.

 Q.10 In which of the following committees there is no representation of Rajya Sabha? (UP.PCS 2010)

(A)      Public Accounts Committee.                (B)      Committee on Public Undertakings.

(C)       Estimates Committee.                            (D)      Committee on Government Assurances.

Ans:- (C)

See the explanation of above question.

About D.K Chaudhary

Polityadda the Vision does not only “train” candidates for the Civil Services, it makes them effective members of a Knowledge Community. Polityadda the Vision enrolls candidates possessing the necessary potential to compete at the Civil Services Examination. It organizes them in the form of a fraternity striving to achieve success in the Civil Services Exam. Content Publish By D.K. Chaudhary

Check Also

G.K Quiz 13th August 2018 In Hindi

By: D.K Chaudhary लावा के प्रवाह से किस मिट्टी का निर्माण होता है— काली मिट्टी …