Indian Polity Quiz 12 may, 2016 (English)

Indian Polity Quiz  12 may, 2016

By: D.K Choudhary

Q1. The members of the Rajya Sabha are elected by
A. the people
B. Lok Sabha
C. elected members of the legislative assembly
D. elected members of the legislative council

Q2. The members of the panchayat are
A. nominated by the district officer
B. the electorates of the respective territorial constituencies
C. nominated by local self-government minister of the state
D. nominated by the block development organization

Q3. The power to decide an election petition is vested in the
A. Parliament
B. Supreme Court
C. High courts
D. Election Commission

Q4. The oath of office is administered to the Governor by the
A. chief justice of India
B. president
C. chief justice of high court
D. speaker of legislative assembly

Q5. The members of Parliament can express themselves in the House in
A. English only
B. Hindi only
C. English or Hindi
D. English, Hindi or mother tongue

Q6. The members of the committees of Parliament are
A. nominated by the leaders of the various parties in the Parliament
B. nominated by the prime minister
C. appointed by the speaker or elected by the House from amongst persons who are not members of Parliament
D. appointed by the speaker or elected by the House from amongst its own members

Q7. The office of the president can fall vacant due to
A. resignation
B. death
C. removal
D. All of the above

Q8. The president can dismiss a member of the council of ministers
A. on his own
B. on the recommendation of the prime ministers
C. only under emergency conditions
D. with the consent of the speaker

Q9. The office of the prime minister of India
A. has a constitutional basis
B. has a statutory basis
C. has conventional basis
D. None of the above

Q10. The members of the parliamentary committee
A. are appointed by the president in consultation with the prime minister
B. are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the speaker
C. are taken from various groups and parties in Parliament in proportion to their respective strength
D. both (b) and (c)

1. C
2. B
3. C  Answer Description:-      
(Prior to 1966 election petitions were presented to the Election Commission, which would constitute one-member Election Tribunals of the rank of District Judge, on an ad hoc basis for the trial of election petitions. In Hari Vishnu Kamath v. Ahmed Isheque it was held by the Supreme Court that Art 329(b) prohibited only the ‘initiation’ of proceedings, questioning an election, in any other manner other than by an election petition and once that proceeding was initiated by filing an election petition, the requirement of Art 329(b) was met and thereafter the trial of the petition by the election tribunal was subject to the general law and to the supervision of High Courts over tribunals.

Thus in order to avoid dual jurisdiction over the election matters the Election Commission recommended that trial of election petitions should be entrusted to the High Courts instead of election tribunals. Parliament thus enacted Section 80-A of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 providing that the “High Court” shall be the authority for presentment of election petitions under Article 329(b) of the Constitution. This was incorporated by an amendment in the year 1966 (Act 47 of 1966).)

4. C
5. D
6. D
7. D
8. B
9. A
10. C

About D.K Chaudhary

Polityadda the Vision does not only “train” candidates for the Civil Services, it makes them effective members of a Knowledge Community. Polityadda the Vision enrolls candidates possessing the necessary potential to compete at the Civil Services Examination. It organizes them in the form of a fraternity striving to achieve success in the Civil Services Exam. Content Publish By D.K. Chaudhary

Check Also

G.K Quiz 13th August 2018 In Hindi

By: D.K Chaudhary लावा के प्रवाह से किस मिट्टी का निर्माण होता है— काली मिट्टी …