High Courts

Q.1   Sovereignty of Indian parliament is restricted by?          (UP PCS Main 2004)

(A)      Powers of the president                                                (B)      Judicial review

(C)       Powers of the prime minister of india          (D)      Leader of the opposition

Answer (B)


Q.2   The Indian constitution provides for the appointment of adhoc judges in ?

(UP PCS 2004)

(A)      Supreme court                               (B)      High Court

(C)       District and session courts        (D)      All of these

Answer (D)


Q.3   Salaries of the judges of the Supreme court are determined by? (UP PCS Main 2008)

(A)      Pay Commission appointed by the president         (B)      Law Commission

(C)       Parliament                                                                          (D)      Council of Minister

Answer (C)


Q.4   Which of the following courts in india is are known as the court’s of records?

(Up PCS Main 2008)

(A)      the high court Only                                  (B)      the supreme court only

(C)       The high court and supreme court      (D)      The District court

Answer (C)


Q.5   The system of judicial review exists in ?      (UP PCS Main 2008)

(A)      India Only                (B)      U.K. Only

(C)       U.S.A. Only              (D)      India and U.S.A

Answer (D)


Q.6   Which article of the constitution permits the supreme court to review its own judgement or order?       (UP PCS Main)

(A)      Article 137              (B)      Article 138

(C)       Article 139              (D)      Article 140

Answer (A)


Q.7   Who is the custodian of Indian constitution?        (MP PCS Pre 2010)

(A)      President                             (B)      Parliament

(C)       Council of Ministers        (D)      Supreme Court

Answer (D)


Q.8   Who has the right to transfer any case anywhere in india?      (MP PCS Pre 2010)

(A)      President                 (B)      Supreme Court

(C)       High Court               (D)      None of these

Answer (B)


Q9   Who is the final authority to interpret the constitution ?         (WB PCS Pre 2008)

(A)      President                             (B)      Parliament

(C)       Lok Sabha                             (D)      Supreme Court

Answer (D)


Q.10   The Supreme court of india was set up by the ?    (TN PCS Pre 2009)

(A)      Regulating Act, 1773                   (B)      Pitt’s india Act, 1784

(C)       Charter Act, 1813                         (D)      Charter Act, 1833

Answer (A)