GK Update 26th May 2017

GK Update 26th May 2017

By: D.K Choudhary
Important Cabinet Approvals- 24 May 2017

i. The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has given its approval in the various fields and has also approved some important MoUs. The important approvals of the Cabinet are as follows-
The Cabinet has approved-
  • MoU between India and Bangladesh on cooperation in the peaceful uses of outer space.
  • Raising of Bonds of Rs. 2360 crores for Renewable Energy.
  • Joint Declaration of Intent between Germany and India regarding cooperation in the sector of alternative medicine.
  • Phasing out Foreign Investment Promotion Board.
  • MoU between Spain and India on cooperation in the field of Organ Transplant Services.
  • Setting up of new AIIMS in Kamrup, Assam.
  • The allocation of 2.5 per cent of Central Road Fund for development and maintenance of National Waterways (NWs) by amending the Central Road Fund Act, 2000.

Govt launches ‘eSanad’ for online document verification

i. The Human Resource Development Ministry and the External Affairs Ministry launched an online verification portal ‘e-sanad’ to make the document verification process easier for students who planning to study abroad.
ii. ‘e-Sanad’ is an initiative of the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), in association with two other ministries with the help of Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE).
iii. CBSE becomes the first Board to partner with MEA for e-Sanad.
Static Takeaways-

  • Human Resource Development Minister of India is Prakash Javedkar
  • External Affairs Minister of India is Sushma Swaraj
  • CBSE Chairman is RK. Chaturvedi.
BSNL launches satellite phone service using Inmarsat
i. State-owned BSNL started satellite phone service through INMARSAT which will be initially offered to government agencies and later opened for others citizen in phased manner.
ii. The service will cover areas where no networks are present and be provided by INMARSAT which has 14 satellites. Agencies handling disasters, state police, railways, Border Security Force and other government agencies will be given the phones in the first phase
Static Takeaways-

    • BSNL Chairman and Managing Director is Anupam Shrivastava
    • Full form of BSNL is Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd and its headquarter is in New Delhi.
    • BSNL was founded in 2000.
    • INMARSAT full form is International Maritime Satellite
EDII and ITC bags Porter Prize 2017 
i. Entrepreneurship Development Institute of India (EDII), Gujarat and ITC Ltd have won the Porter Prize 2017.
ii. ITC bags for  Excellence in Corporate Governance and Integration and for its contribution in Creating Shared Value.
iii. The Entrepreneurship Development Institute of India (EDII), is an autonomous body and not-for-profit institution, set up in 1983, is sponsored by apex financial institutions, namely the IDBI Bank Ltd, IFCI Ltd. ICICI Ltd and State Bank of India (SBI).Static Takeaways-

  • Porter Prize is named after Michael E. Porter, an economist, researcher, author, advisor, speaker,  teacher.
Two Indian peacekeepers honoured posthumously with UN medal

i. Two Indian peacekeepers Rifleman Brijesh Thapa and Ravi Kumar were among 117 military, police and civilian personnel honoured by the United Nations with a prestigious UN medal awarded posthumously for courage and sacrifice in the line of duty. ii. They received the Dag Hammarskjöld Medal on the Ocassion of International Day of UN Peacekeepers which was observed on 24 May, 2017.

Static Takeaways-

    • António Guterres is the ninth Secretary-General of the United Nations.
    • United Nations headquarter is in New York City, USA.
IIT-Kharagpur signs MoU with Madhya Pradesh for measuring Happiness Index
i. Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur’s Rekhi Centre of Excellence for the Science of Happiness has signed an MoU with Madhya Pradesh government to collaborate on the development of a Happiness Index for measuring the well-being of the people of the state.
ii. The MoU was signed with MP government’s ‘Rajya Anandam Sansthan’ (Department of Happiness) in the presence of MP Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and IIT-KGP Director Prof P P Chakrabarti at Bhopal recently.

Static Takeaways-

    • Prof P P Chakrabarti is the Director of IIT Kharagpur
    • Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh is Mr. Shivraj Singh Chouhan
    • Om Prakash Kohli is the Governor of Madhya Pradesh
    • Kanha National Park is situated in Madhya Pradesh famous for Tigers
Socialist Lenin Moreno sworn in as Ecuador president
i. Lenin Moreno was sworn in as Ecuador’s president following a tight electoral race that the former vice president won on promises of maintaining the social programs of his leftist predecessor, Rafael Correa.
ii. The 64-year-old Moreno, a socialist, last month won a runoff vote in the oil-exporting country, bucking a shift to the right in South America as leftist governments struggle to maintain support.
Static Takeaways-
  • Ecuador capital is Quito and its currency is United States Dollar
  •  New Book on Virat Kohli’s Winning Formula Revealed by Abhirup Bhattacharya
i. A new book “Winning like Virat: Think & Succeed like Kohli” by Abhirup Bhattacharya, unravels the secrets of the cricketer’s consistent form, while attempting to decode his philosophy towards life.
ii. In the book, the writer etches Virat’s success curve by using statistics that chart his performances and anecdotes from his predecessors and contemporaries in the game.
Static Takeaways-
Virat Kohli was awarded the Polly Umrigar Award at the BCCI award ceremony 2017.
P V Sindhu Elected to Badminton World Federation Athletes’ Commission
i. Olympic silver medalist P.V. Sindhu became a member of the BWF Athletes’ Commission after voting closed for the four places on the representative body.
ii. The 21-year-old Indian topped the ballot with 129 votes as she led a trio of women onto the BWF Athletes’ Commission. She will serve for four years term.
Static Takeaways-

  • BWF was initially called as The International Badminton Federation (IBF), was established in London, on 5 July 1934 with nine founding member associations
  • The BWF is a federation of 188 members globally
  • BWF is headquaretered in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.
 Ashwin wins International Cricketer of the Year award
i. India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin won the coveted International Cricketer of the Year award at the CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) International awards 2017.
ii. The award was presented to Ashwin by former India skipper Sunil Gavaskar and Harsh Goenka, Chairman of RPG Enterprises, at a function held at the Cricket Club of India.
Static Takeaways-

  • Ravichandran Ashwin won both the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016 and the ICC Test cricketer of the Year 2016 award.


About D.K Chaudhary

Polityadda the Vision does not only “train” candidates for the Civil Services, it makes them effective members of a Knowledge Community. Polityadda the Vision enrolls candidates possessing the necessary potential to compete at the Civil Services Examination. It organizes them in the form of a fraternity striving to achieve success in the Civil Services Exam. Content Publish By D.K. Chaudhary

Check Also

Current Affairs 18th August 2018 in Hindi

By: D.K Chaudhary 1. भारतीय रेलवे विरासत के बारे में जागरूकता फैलाने के लिए रेल …